Public Document Pack



Tuesday, 9 July 2024

Trafford Town Hall Talbot Road Stretford M32 0TH

Dear Councillor,

Your attendance is requested at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Trafford on WEDNESDAY, 17 JULY 2024, at 6.00 P.M. in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, TRAFFORD TOWN HALL, TALBOT ROAD, STRETFORD, for the transaction of the business set out below:

1. Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman

To consider a report of the Director of Legal and Governance recommending that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Patrick Myers and Lawrence Walsh.

Yours sincerely,

STOOLD

SARA TODD Chief Executive

Membership of the Council

Councillors A.M. Whyte (Mayor), J. Brophy (Deputy Mayor), D. Acton, S. Adshead, J.M. Axford, Babar, O.J. Baskerville, J. Bennett, B. Brotherton, D. Butt, G. Carter, K.G. Carter, G. Coggins, M. Cordingley, F. Cosby, Z.C. Deakin, G. Devlin, R. Duncan, P. Eckersley, S. G. Ennis, N. Evans, W. Frass, S.J. Gilbert, K Glenton, L. Hancock, J. Harding, B. Hartley, W. Hassan, S. J. Haughey, E.L. Hirst, J. Holden, F. Hornby, C. Hynes, D. Jarman, D. Jerrome, W. Jones, J. Leicester, S.E. Lepori, J. Lloyd, S. Maitland, M. Minnis, J.D. Newgrosh, T. O'Brien, D.C. O'Sullivan, E.R. Parker, E. Patel, K. Procter, S. Procter, T. Ross, U. Savary, J. Slater, H. K. Spencer, O. Sutton, M.J. Taylor, S. Taylor, S. Thomas, R. Thompson, M.J. Welton, D. Western, A.J. Williams, B.G. Winstanley, J.A. Wright and S. Zhi

Pages

1 - 4

<u>Further Information</u> For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact:

lan Cockill,, Senior Democratic Officer Tel: 0161 912 1387 Email: <u>ian.cockill@trafford.gov.uk</u>

This Summons was issued on **Tuesday**, **9 July 2024** by the Governance Services Section, Trafford Council, Trafford Town Hall, Talbot Road, Stretford M32 0TH.

Agenda Item 1

TRAFFORD COUNCIL

| Report to: | Meeting of the Council |
|-------------|----------------------------------|
| Date: | 17 July 2024 |
| Report for: | Decision |
| Report of: | Director of Legal and Governance |

Report Title

Conferment of the Title of Honorary Alderman

Summary

This report recommends that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Patrick Myers and Laurance Walsh.

Recommendation(s)

That, being of the opinion that former Councillor Laurance Walsh and former Councillor Patrick Myers, have rendered eminent services as past members of the Council, the Council, under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, hereby confers the title of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillor Laurance Walsh MBE and former Councillor Patrick Myers, in recognition of their exceptional service to the Borough of Trafford.

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: John Addison, Governance Manager

Background Papers:

Nominations from Councillors Tom Ross and Nathan Evans.

Background Information

| Relationship to Corporate Priorities | None |
|--------------------------------------|--|
| Relationship to GM Policy or | None |
| Strategy Framework | |
| Financial | There are some minor costs associated with the |
| | award arising from the award of medals for the |
| | Aldermen. This will be met from the Democratic |
| | Services budget. |
| Legal Implications | The formal decision to confer the status of |
| | Honorary Alderman must be made by an |
| | Extraordinary Meeting of the Council. |
| Equality/Diversity Implications | None |
| Sustainability Implications | None |
| Carbon Reduction Implications | None |
| Staffing/E-Government/Asset | None |
| Management Implications | |
| Risk Management Implications | None |
| Health and Safety Implications | None |

Background

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the title of Honorary Alderman may be conferred by the Council on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members of this Council, (or a predecessor Council), but who are no longer Councillors. The title is to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

Any Member of Council may nominate an ex-Councillor for the role of Honorary Alderman. The appointment of Honorary Alderman is to confer recognition on previous Councillors who, over a period of time, have made a significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service. They should meet the following criteria in that they:-

- No longer hold the position of Councillor;
- Must have served for a minimum of 20 years on the Council;
- Must have rendered eminent services during their time on the Council;
- Must have made a significant contribution to the Council and the people it represents; and
- are no longer politically active.

Conferring the title of Honorary Alderman entitles the recipient to be invited to attend Council meetings in a nonparticipating capacity and to attend and take part in other civic ceremonies such as Civic Sundays and Remembrance Sundays and other appropriate civic events.

Councillor Tom Ross, Leader of Trafford Council and Councillor Nathan Evans, the Conservative Group Leader on the Council have respectively proposed that former Councillors Walsh and Myers be conferred the status of Honorary Alderman and have submitted the following in support of their nominations:

MR. LAURENCE WALSH

Former Councillor Laurence Walsh served the Gorse Hill community as a Talbot Ward and then a Gorse Hill Ward representative for 24 years. He has been a strong voice for his community throughout and a keen volunteer in the local community and has supported many community projects over the years such as working with young people, the homeless, "Fun day's in Gorse Hill Park" and "Litter Picks" in Gorse Hill Ward.

Laurence has served on a number of internal committees in his time on the Council, in particular as Chair of the Planning Committee, along with being appointed to a range of outside bodies.

Laurence is a former Mayor of Trafford and without doubt given his enormous contribution to our Borough I feel he meets the criteria necessary to be awarded Alderman Status.

MR. PATRICK MYERS

Former Councillor Patrick Myers was elected to Trafford Council in 1991 representing Hale Ward for 8 years until he stood down to concentrate on managing his Optical Practice. During his tenure, Patrick served as Chair of the Finance Committee and of the Licensing Panel.

He returned to the Council in 2008 representing Hale Barns Ward until his retirement in 2023. Patrick served as Executive Member for Finance and Governance and as Deputy Leader of the Council.

Patrick is especially interested in education and in 1991, he was elected to serve as a governor at Well Green Primary School, where for the last 27 years he has been the chair of governors.

Beyond Trafford, Patrick is a Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers and holds the Freedom of the City of London.

As a Ward Councillor, Patrick has always considered the interests of the people of Hale and Hale Barns, supporting residents' casework. Together with ward colleagues he was actively involved with community groups and played a leading part in community events. This page is intentionally left blank